News flash – I love my job!

Earlier this week I was rambling about the boredom of creating the same old glass jewellery – well……… after an exciting couple of days of experimentation with random stacks of glass and a diamond tile cutting saw, I’ve decided it’s still fun after all!

The idea was to create jewellery cabochons from a slab created by stacking glass in a dam and allowing it to melt and flow into negative spaces – in doing this, you have no idea what layers of glass you are creating within the slab – VERY EXCITING!!

The first 3 pics below show the creation of a slab….

blue stacks pic 1blue stacks pic 2blue slab

Once the slab is made, the fun really begins!

I got a diamond tile saw for my birthday last year (I know, I’m a bit sad like that) and this was it’s christening. Just incase you are thinking of doing this at home, be warned, it makes a lot more mess than you think and you really need a waterproof mac and wellies!! You literally slice up the slab – I made 8mm slices, as this is a good thickness for most things I want to do.

Anyhow….. the next pic is actually of a green slab I also made, which as you can see, was cut into strips. These were then laid on their sides in an alternating way, to form a continuous pattern. All clear so far?

    green slab being cutgreen slab after firing

The green strips were re-fired to create a new slab which will become a bowl.

The blue strips on the other hand, well, they are practically edible!! I’ve cut a few into squares and rectangles and they are, as I type being fired to smooth the glass back off (as it gets pretty roughed up with the saw).

blue chunks pre firing

I am unbelievably excited about these little chunks – I’m seeing cufflinks, rings and necklaces – How funky are they?? VERY!! Yay – Mojo well and truly back, I’d say!

…..now there’s just the small matter of a tax return…… boo hiss!

 

Leave a Reply

